• Ullapool Bookshop
  • Inside the Ullapool Bookshop
  • Book festival
  • Children's Books
  • Ullapool Bookshop

MV Isle of Lewis

Book: MV Isle of Lewis by Mark Nicolson (price £9.99)

The Isle of Lewis was constructed by Ferguson Shipbuilders of Port Glasgow on the Clyde, launched by royalty and assumed the Ullapool to Stornoway service at the end of July 1995. She was the first truly 'route-specific' vessel, planned in high detail for a route from which she never wavered. This book tells the story of a vessel which has risen above all odds, as well as featuring details of MV Suilven and the current Stornoway-Ullapool ferry the CalMac Ferries; MV Loch Seaforth MV Isle of Lewis

Uncharted by The Piano Guys (feauring Ullapool Pipe Band)

Last autumn our local pipers and drummers (Ullapool & District Pipe Band) travelled to Eilean Donan Castle to appear in the filming of the Piano Guys' version of Rachel Platten's Fight Song. This video has now been watched nearly 16 million times on YouTube.
This new DVD features not only the Fight Song video but a much longer behind-the-scenes look at its filming, lasting 20 minutes, with lots of shots of our local band, plenty of humour and no little drama. The CD & DVD also feature other excellent Piano Guys recordings. Price £15.99 at the Ullapool Bookshop Uncharted

Uncommon Sense by James A Simpson

The brand new book by James A Simpson is now in stock at the Ullapool Bookshop, called 'Uncommon Sense....and comic nonsense.' In this book by the former Moderator of the Church of Scotland (author of Holy Wit and more Holy Wit), he talks about uncommon sense through a variety of musings on things that really matter and humorous anecdotes.
Priced £5.95